Layer Me Up Mitts

The last couple of weeks, I have taken a break from the relentless Christmas gift making, and have made something for myself!

Toni at Woolgasm (Also known as Craftgasm!) has created the most fantastic fingerless glove pattern, and I just had to try it out. The pattern consists of several layers, knitted together, to make one glove (or a pair!).

img_4973

It’s great for using up scraps, or mini skeins, and it doesn’t even use 100g. I dyed my mini’s to my own colour preferences, and I only had 5, so I had to do a little rejig at the end of the pattern (As the pattern calls for 6). I still have a lot of yarn left, so I will be making a pair for the small person too (this isn’t included in the pattern, but I think I can figure it out).
I have only been knitting for 2 years, and I found this pattern pretty easy. Once I had finished the first, I whizzed through the second.
I also chose to reverse the colours on the second mitt, because I am a fan of odd socks and gloves!

You will need two sets of knitting needles, so don’t get too excited unless you have those! Thankfully, I like to knit several pairs of socks at a time, so I had a few fixed circulars of the same size. The pattern also measures in inches, so keep google open if you are like me and you work in CM!

img_4981
Finished mittens. Stitch markers from Yarnistry.

Toni has plans for other layered patterns, and she is currently working on a hat pattern. She also does some amazing work with brioche knitting, so if you wanted a fancy brioche hat but can’t be bothered making one, check out her Etsy shop, where she sells her finished items.

The Layer Me Up Mitts pattern is available for £1 on Ravelry until Christmas eve, and the discount is automatically applied at the checkout.

Happy knitting!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

