Yarn Club Reveal: Wizard Of Oz

I had so much fun doing this one! And I took it super seriously too!! I spent so long thinking about the colourways, and I changed my mind multiple times.
This month there was an option to have a set of 5 mini skeins, instead of a full 100g skein.
The minis (pictured above) came in the following colours:

  • You’re Out Of The Woods. This was inspired by Dorothy and her gang coming out of the dark woods, and into the light. The skein starts out black, then grey, and then yellow (for the bright light and also the yellow brick road).Do you remember the song in the film, when Dorothy wakes in the poppy field? That’s what I was singing whilst dyeing this!
  • Yellow Brick Road. I don’t think this needs much explanation, does it?
  • Fly My Pretties. Inspired by the Wicked Witch of The West’s flying monkeys! In light blue, to grey, to red. I chose not to make them too dark, because I felt it wouldn’t go well with the rest of the skeins.
  • Ding Dong The Witch Is Dead. This is my favourite! In a stroke of genius, I had the idea to dye the Wicked Witch Of The East’s legs and ruby slippers, as they were when they stuck out from under Dorothy’s house. So the skein is black and white, with red at the bottom.Wicked-witch-feet-curl-o
  • Emerald City.
     And obviously, the set wouldn’t be complete without a little emerald city to end the journey!

The full skein.

I wanted to do something totally different for the full skein, and after much thought, I decided to use Munchkin Land as inspiration. This is my favourite part of the film, and my favourite song, as you might have guessed from my business name!! I took bright colours from the flowers, houses and outfits of the Munchkins.

IMG_3968

The Extras!!

For the extras, I roped in some help from my friend Lynn over at Cross Craft Creations. I gave her the theme and told her to do whatever she wanted. She came back to me with some absolutely stunning Ruby Slipper resin buttons. I use a lot of Lynn’s buttons as photography props, and I am starting to get quite a large collection!! Go check out her Facebook linked above, if you haven’t already.
The other extras were a little badge with Dorothy and her gang. And a magic wand (They really are magic, I promise!!) as a nod to my daughter’s favourite character Glinda The Good Witch.

IMG_3973

I hope those who received these are as in love with them as I am. And I hope you have enjoyed reading through this blog post! Make sure you click on the links, because the videos add to the magic!!
The next reveal blog will be Studio Ghibli in a couple of weeks, so keep an eye out for that!

 

Leave a Reply

